Trade on a regulated exchange that has served customers since 2013.
QNT supply, live
Circulating supply
—
Max supply
—
Market cap
—
Price
—
Data: CoinGecko public API
Key takeaways
Total and maximum supply is 14,612,493.08 QNT, unchanged since the burn on 14 September 2018. There is no minting function.
The 2018 sale distributed 9,964,259 QNT; 9,545,766 unsold tokens were burned. The company kept about 4.65 million at the time; how much it holds now is not verified.
No mining, no inflation and no protocol staking rewards exist today. Fusion trusted-node staking is planned but its parameters are unpublished.
Utility: Overledger licence fees (historically £100 a year in QNT), Quant Treasury locking, and gas and node staking on the Fusion rollup.
Etherscan's "45,467,000" and a MiCA white-paper figure of 14,881,364 are both artefacts; the on-chain reality is 14.61 million.
The supply numbers
Quant's token is an ERC-20 on Ethereum with 18 decimals, deployed at contract address 0x4a220E6096B25EADb88358cb44068A3248254675. After the September 2018 burn the total supply settled at 14,612,493.080826178 QNT, and that is still the number today. The contract has no owner functions and no mint function (the EtherAuthority review cited in Quant's Blockworks transparency filing), so the total cannot rise.
Circulating supply, by Etherscan's and CoinGecko's count on 2 November 2026, was about 14,556,178 QNT, or 99.6% of the total. The gap of roughly 56,000 tokens is what the aggregators treat as locked or otherwise excluded. Blockworks' July 2026 filing cited Etherscan at 14,544,176, a slightly lower number, so the figure drifts a little over time as labels change. Holder count was 187,005 on Etherscan and 194,939 on Blockscout the same day; the two explorers count dust balances differently.
Total / max supply
14,612,493
QNT, fixed since 14 Sep 2018
Circulating
14,556,178
Etherscan and CoinGecko, 2 Nov 2026
Holders
~187,000
Etherscan; Blockscout shows ~195,000
Decimals
18
Standard ERC-20 on Ethereum
The 2018 sale and burn
Quant ran a pre-sale from 19 March to 1 April 2018 at 687 QNT per ETH (a 37.5% bonus) with 15 million tokens allocated, followed by the public token generation event from 2 to 30 April 2018 at 430 QNT per ETH, roughly $1.10 per token at the time. The public round offered 31 million QNT with a minimum cap of $5 million. In the end 9,964,259 QNT were sold for about $11 million, and tokens were distributed on 25 June 2018. The sale was run by the Swiss entity Quant Network AG in Zug, which is why Etherscan's ICO box lists Switzerland as the country.
Third-party trackers tell a slightly different story: ICO Drops records $26 million raised across rounds at $1.00 pre-sale and $1.51 public, and Etherscan's ICO panel shows $1.60. Quant's own transparency filing rejects the $26 million figure in favour of the Business Paper numbers above. Treat the exact public-sale price as disputed between $1.10 and $1.51; the quantity sold is not disputed.
On 14 September 2018 Quant burned the unsold allocation: 9,545,765.95 QNT. Quant's own announcement that day gave the resulting split as 9,964,259.03 public and 4,648,234.05 held by the company, summing to the 14,612,493.08 total. Blockworks breaks the company portion down further as roughly 2.6 million company reserve, 1.3 million founders and 651,000 advisors. Staff tokens vested over 12 months with a two-month transfer restriction, so no vesting overhang remains.
Of 45.47 million QNT originally minted, two thirds were burned in September 2018. The 14.61 million that remain are all there will ever be.
Circulating supply vs company holdings
Here the record gets murkier, and it is worth being clear about what is and is not known. At the burn in 2018 the company held 4,648,234 QNT, about 31.8% of the total. What Quant Network Ltd and its group companies hold today is not verified. The Blockworks filing notes an Etherscan-labelled figure of only about 68,000 QNT and does not reconcile it with the 2018 number. Community estimates of "around 2 million in treasury" circulate without a source. A tokenomics audit by 8blocks estimated that roughly 65% of supply sits in a single treasury-related address, which would be far more than the 2018 company share; that figure is also unverified.
What the aggregators call "circulating" (14.56 million, or 99.6%) therefore includes whatever the company holds, because none of those tokens is contractually locked. That is a reasonable convention, but it means "circulating" does not mean "freely traded". The practical implication for the QNT price is that the true float could be substantially smaller than the headline, which would help explain the token's sharp moves on modest volume.
Quant publishes no on-chain treasury dashboard and the token confers no governance rights, so there is no mechanism for holders to require disclosure. Blockworks marked its July 2026 filing "Partial, 6 gaps". If you want to inspect balances yourself, the transaction tracker page explains how to read holder lists on Etherscan and Blockscout.
No mining, no inflation, no staking rewards today
Three things people search for simply do not exist. There is no QNT mining: the token is an ERC-20 whose supply was created in one transaction in 2018, and Ethereum itself moved to proof of stake in 2022. There is no inflation: no emissions schedule, no block rewards, no treasury minting. And there are no protocol staking rewards at present: Ethereum validators stake ETH, not QNT, and Quant has said it runs no general staking scheme paying inflationary rewards because it has no inflation to pay them with.
What does exist is a set of custodial "earn" products on exchanges that pay small yields by lending QNT out, for example Kraken's flexible rewards at 0.1% APY. These are lending arrangements with counterparty risk, not staking. The staking page separates the real products from the marketing.
The one planned exception is trusted-node staking on the Fusion rollup, covered under utility below. Until its parameters are published it should be treated as a design intention, not a feature.
What QNT is used for
Overledger licence fees
On 10 December 2021 Quant introduced an annual Overledger licence fee of £100 for all live-platform customers and developers, payable in QNT, with the test platform remaining free and existing users due to pay from 15 March 2022. This created the first mandatory, if small, demand for the token. Quant's current FAQ says a platform fee can be paid in USD or by subscribing with QNT, with pricing on request, so the hard requirement has softened into an option.
Quant Treasury and locking
Quant's 2020 Overledger Network paper described a Treasury that converts fiat payments into QNT and uses layer-2 payment channels to pay gateway operators, so that enterprise customers never need to touch the token themselves. Licence QNT was widely reported to be locked for twelve months, but Quant's current site does not state a lock period, so treat the lock as unverified as a present-day mechanism. Gateway operators could also lock QNT in the Treasury to receive higher priority for their transactions under the 2021 design.
Fusion gas and trusted-node stake
The Fusion multi-ledger rollup, on mainnet since 2 June 2026, designates QNT as the token for gas and execution fees, and its design has KYC'd trusted-node operators staking QNT to process transactions and earn rewards. This is the most significant potential source of structural demand, because it would lock supply rather than merely spend it. As of November 2026 the minimum stake, lock period and reward rate are unpublished; public staking documentation on the developer hub was still marked under construction in September, and several trackers list the programme as upcoming.
What QNT does not do
QNT carries no governance, dividend, equity or shareholder rights. Quant Network Ltd controls the protocol as a corporate operator and will act as the Fusion sequencer. Bank deployments, including the UK tokenised sterling deposits platform and The Clearing House's network, have not stated that participants must buy or hold QNT. The Overledger and ecosystem pages explain the products that generate the company's revenue.
The MiCA white-paper discrepancy
If you look QNT up on CoinMarketCap or CoinPaprika you may see a maximum supply of 14,881,364 and a circulating supply of 12,072,738. Those figures appear to originate from a MiCA-format white paper quoted by CoinMarketCap and Bitrue. They do not match Etherscan, CoinGecko, Quant's 2018 burn announcement or the Blockworks filing, all of which give 14,612,493 total. We have not been able to see the primary document and cannot explain the 268,871-token difference in the maximum or the 2.48 million difference in circulating supply. Until Quant reconciles the two, this site uses the on-chain figures, and we flag the white-paper numbers as unverified rather than wrong.
The practical effect is real: at $200 per token the two circulating figures give market caps of $2.91 billion and $2.41 billion, and CoinGecko ranks QNT #35 while CoinPaprika ranks it #44. Anyone comparing Quant with other projects should check which supply their source is using.
Every QNT figure on this page can be checked against the contract on Etherscan; the white-paper numbers cannot.
Supply models compared: QNT, LINK, XRP and BTC
Fixed supply is not unique to Quant, but the way each network reached its cap differs, and so does what holders can expect.
Yes, Chainlink Staking for node operators and community
XRP
100 billion, created at genesis
None; escrow releases, small fee burn
None; XRP Ledger uses consensus without staking
BTC (Bitcoin)
21 million, reached around 2140
Block subsidy, halving every four years
None; proof-of-work mining
QNT's distinguishing feature is the combination of a very small cap with no issuance at all: Bitcoin still mints new coins, LINK still releases reserves, XRP still unlocks from escrow. Only QNT's supply is both small and completely static. The Quant vs Chainlink and Quant vs XRP pages go deeper into what the two closest comparators actually do.
Why fixed supply matters, and its limits
A fixed supply does three useful things for holders. It removes dilution: nobody's share of the network shrinks because new tokens were printed. It makes valuation arithmetic trivial: market cap divided by 14.56 million is the price, with no emissions curve to model. And it means that any new structural demand, such as node operators locking stake, has to be met from existing holders rather than fresh issuance, which is why thin-float tokens like QNT can move so sharply when demand changes.
But fixed supply guarantees nothing on its own. Supply is only half of the price; if demand for the token falls, a fixed supply falls in price just as readily as an inflationary one. Quant's token sits beside a business that can be paid in fiat, so the link between company success and token demand is weaker than for a token that is the only way to pay for the network. Concentration matters too: a small supply with a large, unverified treasury share means the tradeable float is smaller still, which cuts both ways. And a cap does not prevent the company issuing a successor token or changing how fees are charged; the fixed supply is a property of the contract, not a promise about the business model.
The honest summary is that QNT's tokenomics are clean, simple and verifiable on-chain, with one large unknown (company holdings) and one large pending change (Fusion staking). Whether those tokenomics translate into value depends on questions the price outlook and review pages take up.
Frequently asked questions
What is the max supply of Quant coin?
14,612,493.08 QNT. Total and maximum supply are the same figure, fixed since 9,545,765.95 unsold tokens were burned on 14 September 2018. The contract has no function to create more.
Why does Etherscan show 45,467,000 QNT?
That is the contract's original totalSupply from 2018. The burn sent tokens to a burn address without reducing the counter, so Etherscan still displays the pre-burn figure as "max total supply". The live supply is 14.61 million.
Can you mine Quant?
No. QNT is an ERC-20 token on Ethereum with a supply created in a single event in 2018. There is no mining, no proof-of-work and no block reward. Anyone offering "QNT mining" is not offering Quant.
Does QNT have staking rewards?
Not at protocol level today. Exchange "earn" products lend out your QNT for small yields (Kraken's flexible rewards pay 0.1% APY) and carry counterparty risk. Trusted-node staking on the Fusion rollup is planned, but its parameters are unpublished as of November 2026. See the staking page.
How much QNT does Quant Network hold?
Unverified. The company held 4,648,234 QNT at the 2018 burn. Current figures range from an Etherscan-labelled ~68,000 QNT to third-party estimates of around 65% of supply in a treasury-related address, and Quant publishes no treasury report. We flag every figure as unverified.
What is the QNT token actually used for?
Paying Overledger licence fees (historically £100 a year in QNT, now payable in USD as an alternative), locking in the Quant Treasury under the gateway design, and paying gas on the Fusion rollup, where node operators are also expected to stake QNT. It carries no governance or equity rights.